Support

Deleting Messages

Deleting a message from within the message view

  1. Open the message you wish to delete.

  1. Click the Delete link in the text menu at the top of the message to mark it for deletion. Depending on how your email is configured, the message will either be marked for delete, or moved to your trash folder.

  1. To completely remove the message from your mailbox, return to the folder view, and click on the Purge Deleted or Empty Trash link in the text menu (which one appears depends on your email configuration. It is located on the right-hand side of the window both above and below your list of messages).

Deleting Messages from the Folder View

  1. Click the checkbox to the left of each message you wish to delete. You can select as many messages as you want, as long as they are all on the same display page.

  1. Click the Delete link. (There are Delete links at both the top and bottom of the folder view.) The messages will be marked for deletion; they will be either crossed out in the display or moved to your trash folder, depending on your configuration. In either case, they will remain in your mailbox.

  1. To completely remove the message from your mailbox, click on the Purge Deleted or Empty Trash link in the text menu (which one appears depends on your email configuration. It is located on the right-hand side of the window both above and below your list of messages).

Tip: You can use the Select pop-up menu to select (that is, check the checkbox next to) all the messages flagged a particular way. For example, you can select all the seen messages, all the important messages, or all the "not personal" (directed to you as a group member rather than as an individual) messages.

How do I get rid of deleted mail?

If you are using the Trash folder feature, it acts somewhat differently. When you tell IMP to delete one or more messages (by clicking Delete in the message view, or by selecting the check box to the left of the message in the mailbox index view and then clicking Delete), the mail is moved to a Trash folder, giving you the opportunity to decide to undelete it (remove it from the trash) later. If you are certain you will not need the deleted message(s), click on Empty Trash folder in the mailbox index view.